A different kind of jam…

I’m not talking about any type of musical jam. Nope nope, I’m talking about the one and only Tomato jam that I made last week. Yes. You read me right. TOMATO JAM. I know what you’re thinking, this girl’s on crack, but in all actuality, it’s the yummiest jam I’ve ever had. I actually grew up eating this jam on my toast, and it was such a treat every summer! It’s actually a recipe back from Uruguay, where my grandfather is from and where him and my grandmother lived for ages. My grandmother always used the same recipe for Tomato and Peach Jam, the two fruits they had in abundance over there. I’ve yet to make peach jam on my own, but today I will share with you the simplest family recipe in the world and hope that you too enjoy this yummy treat!

Tomato Jam


8 cups chopped up fruit (tomatoes for this recipe)

10 cups of sugar

(this makes a very large quantity of jam. If you want to minimize the amount, just use less fruit but always 2 more cups of sugar. Ex: 4 cups of fruit and 6 cups of sugar, 5 to 7, 6 to 8, etc.)

Put the fruit in a large bowl, then spoon in the sugar and stir until the fruit is coated in the sugar

(the sugar will get wet because of the juice from the tomatoes)

cover and place in the fridge to sit overnight.

the next day:

you will  want to pull the bowl of sugar and fruit out of the fridge and give it a stir, since the sugar has settled to the bottom. It will be very syrupy and grainy from the sugar and that’s perfect!

place the tomatoes into a pot

(use a pot however large it needs to be depending on the amount of fruit used)

bring the tomatoes to a boil, then simmer for two hours

THIS PART CAN BE TRICKY!

For 8 cups of fruit, I simmered for two hours and it turned out great.

However, if you let it simmer for 2 hours and have used less than 8 cups of fruit, you will over cook it and it will turn into hard candy! The way to tell if it is done is spoon out some and if it is syrupy when cooled then it is done. Make sure it is not too watery, but the consistency of cough medicine (gross I know but the only equivalent I could think of) when cooled. For four cups, I would say to simmer for about an hour.

MAKE SURE THE HEAT IS ON LOW WHEN SIMMERING

If not, it will burn and taste yucky.

Once you feel that the consistency is correct (remember that it will thicken when it has been in the fridge, so don’t worry if you think it’s too runny. This is a runny jam anyway, not very thick at all) you can let the jam cool in jars or tupperware, whatever. I chose jars and then sealed them while they were hot and let them cool off on the counter, then stored in the fridge.

And there you have it ladies and gentlemen, your very first batch of tomato jam! Makes a great little gift, especially if the person is someone who LOVES to try new and different things.

ENJOY!

2 responses to “A different kind of jam…

  1. Wow… tomato jams… it sounds really interesting. I have tried tomato candy but never tomato jam. I will have to try this.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

  2. I have never had tomato candy, I would assume it would taste similar. Please let me know how the jam turns out for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

