Fuuuuun night!

So I went to a concert the other night and it was to die for FUN!!!

Stopped at a little Italian place in DC for a bite to eat, I had yummy gnocchi’s (my childhood favorite!) and a delish glass of wine and the Boy had this tomato penne pasta. Delish! We were the only two in the restaurant, so it was quite lovely 🙂 I apologize for the iPhone pics, I didn’t have my camera with me…

tehehe, he gets a little shy at times.

We were rather early for the concert at the 9:30 club, so we went across the street to the bar called Nellie’s. It looked like a nice enough place, but then, as we sat there, we started to realize that this place was a little outa whack… can’t really describe it, but I was not all that comfortable there. But after a glass of wine and hanging out with the Boy, I didn’t really care where we were! We were having so much fun!

Regardless of the odd atmosphere, the decor was actually pretty cute! I especially loved the hanging colorful Japanese lanterns!

Our friends finally arrived, and we made our way over to 9:30, and it was a breeze getting in. We found our little spot on the balcony (I don’t really like being on the floor just for the fact that I don’t like to be touched by strangers nor do I like to be trampled) and just started dancing the night away. It was so fabulous!

Opening band was Me Talk Pretty, I had never heard of them but they were pretty good!

The second band was my new favorite Neon Trees. They were AMAZING, the lead was totally on fire and they put on a fabulous show! Oh, and the icing on the cake was that they had a girl drummer! She totally rocked, and now I want to play the drums, really bad!!

click image for source

I was a little dissappointed in the next group, Civil Twilight. I have heard some of their songs, and they are good, but they were just a bit too dreary for me, especially following the high energy of Neon Trees. The three guys just aren’t really up beat performers who can take the stage and enthrall a crowd…but the music itself was good.

click image for source

The last band to come on was Paper Tongues, and they more then made up for the not so great performance of Civil Twilight. They were AMAZING! I LOVED the front man, he is actually the band, he’s got so much energy he could do it all himself. I’m not sure why they have 7 guys, but whatever, I love their sound. The Boy fell in love with them and bought us both T-shirts, I’ll have to show you one of these days.

click image for source

It turned out to be a really fabulous night, and we were so so so happy our friends could join us! I just love going to see a live show, it’s such an awesome experience.

I leave you now with much love, thanks for reading!

I’ll be back later with some lovely inspiration for this rather dreary but still so lovely Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

